Why Facebook “Opt Out” Posts Are Useless

October 18th, 2013   •   1 comment   

photoYet another privacy scam is going around Facebook News Feed. Yes, this is indeed a scam. When signing up for a Facebook account, you are accepting the legal terms, including the privacy policy as outlined by Facebook. Those legal terms state that, “you grant us a non-exclusive, transferable, sub-licensable, royalty-free, worldwide license to use any IP content that you post on or in connection with Facebook (IP License).”

You cannot alter your acceptance of that agreement, nor can you restrict the rights of entities who are not parties to that agreement, simply by posting a notice to your Facebook account.

If you would like to opt out of Facebook using your photos in their advertising, you’ll have to delete your account. The only way to manage your privacy settings while keeping your account is through the “Privacy Settings and Tools.”

Sites like Facebook and Google are permitted to use your likeness because you agreed to their terms of service when opting in and creating an account on the site.

“The terms of service for Facebook, Google and other internet companies include a clause that give them the right to modify their terms from time to time. When you receive an “update,” that’s what is happening — the companies are letting you know the rules have changed and, if you don’t like it, you can quit.” [Source]

Read more about the Facebook privacy scam, here.

Post contributed by Kiersten Bagley.

One comment

  1. Alys Drake says:

    Thank you Kiersten. This absolutely drives me nuts! This is Facebook’s world and we live in it. Or we may choose not to live in it.

Leave a Reply